Poets logo

A Poem a Day in February Is Coming Fast

I write a poem a day in February with friends on Facebook each year and this is year six or seven.

By Denise E LindquistPublished about a year ago 1 min read
9
A Poem a Day in February Is Coming Fast
Photo by Kostiantyn Li on Unsplash

With A Poem a Day in February approaching so fast, I am looking for different poetry forms to try out. This morning I read a poem written by William J Spirdione. He wrote a tawddgyrch cadwynog. He reported that it is a Welch poetic form.

He said that it is written with at least two quatrains with a four-syllable line length and it end rhymes in the pattern of abbc/abbc.

Here is my first attempt with just a bit of humor:

Winter Falls

Winter is the pits,

piling up the snow,

might need a tow,

how many more days?

****

Then the rain hits

it freezes slow.

Cold and ice blow

all Saturdays!

****

Cold as boars tits,

or was that low?

Can't wait to mow!

That is a ways!

****

Here use your wits.

What will that show?

Ice is below

the snow always!

****

Falls are the shits,

and I bellow,

help me fellow

on my birthdays!

***********************

nature poetry
9

About the Creator

Denise E Lindquist

I am married with 7 children, 27 grands, and 12 great-grandchildren. I am a culture consultant part-time. I write A Poem a Day in February for 8 years now. I wrote 4 - 50,000 word stories in NaNoWriMo. I write on Vocal/Medium weekly.

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Babs Iversonabout a year ago

    Fabulous!!!💕😊

  • Mariann Carrollabout a year ago

    You are truly a poet talent . ♥️❤️had to heart this one .

  • I will try and follow you through February. And I might try this out myself

  • C. H. Richardabout a year ago

    Love the idea of poem a day for February. I've just started really writing poetry in the last year so still trying to get my comfort zone. Enjoyed your poem as well. ❤️❄️❤️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.