Poets logo

A Plea for Trust

A Daughter's Perspective

By Saloni PatidarPublished 11 months ago 1 min read
3

Dad, I plead with you to hear me out,

My privacy's what I'm talking about.

Trust is what I ask of you today,

So please listen to what I have to say.

I feel like an unwanted guest,

Even though I try my best.

You trust others with ease,

But my words you never believe.

Snooping on me, it feels unfair,

As if I'm a criminal beyond repair.

I'm your daughter, you need to believe,

That I won't deceive or even thieve.

I'm willing to do anything you request,

But please don't put me to the test,

By treating me like some unwanted guest,

It's mentally torturing, to be honest.

I'm starting to feel like I've failed you,

That's why you're spying, but it's not true.

Please show me that you care and trust,

So I won't feel like my life is bust.

I don't want to live like this anymore,

It's a constant battle, it's such a bore.

I wish there was something I could do,

To make you see, I'll always be true.

I wish I could be like them,

So you could trust me like a true gem.

But all I can do is hope and pray,

That one day you'll believe what I say.

I hope you find a daughter someday,

One who you can trust in every single way.

So you won't have to snoop and spy,

And she won't have to ask just why.

social commentarychildrens poetry
3

About the Creator

Saloni Patidar

hey:)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Real Poetic11 months ago

    Wonderful storytelling ability. 👏🏼 Absolutely love this piece.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.