Poets logo

A Place in the Shade

Rest

By SchmalzPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
A Place in the Shade
Photo by Johannes Plenio on Unsplash

Day after day working in the sun

Staring at the grove and the great beyond

Dreaming of that place I'll come to know

A shady refuge where rest is my home

Watching others as they carry on

Clinging to their riches rejoicing in the sun

Playing power games all day long

But all their money they can't save

And that place in my heart they have no claim

For all the lost gold from the days of old

Could shelter you from the weight of the load

I'm waiting for my little shady grove

Sweating everyday trying to earn a way

So I can find my place in the shade

To get out of the sun and rest away

A fools thought keeps me singing along

And the thrills of life are reflected upon

The dream that remains woven into my heart

Is enough for anyone to start

Clinging to the refuge of soul

Reveries and nightingales all that remain

A shady grove of my own

A place forever known

Resting in the shade

artlove poems
Like

About the Creator

Schmalz

Welcome to my page! I am a writer whose interests are vast and believes in the art of the word. In my writing you will find Non-Fiction, Fiction, and poetry in pursuit of the value of language.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.