Poets logo

A Piece of Me & A Piece of You

This home has finally been abandoned and my whole life made a switch from being set free.

By Keanna Barry Published 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

Oh my favourite view

Were the Cotton Candy skies

The ones that led me to appreciation

And helped me to forget my stress

Without this sense of love

I had nobody nor anything to insist

Much rather my home was never my home

By belonging to someone who is not mine

This home had my heart in shambles

One that persisted being left in shackles

This contrary example of my final denial

Left me in the hands of one not to trust

I’ll yell out “Where is my home?”

With many walking by me close

Trying to know who I am was never it

When where I’m coming from is a dark hole

One that sent me into an escape

Including my love of sleep

As my home never kept me safe

The streets became my only friend

But it’s hard to fight off unintelligence

With despair travelling through my mind

My shackles got tighter the longer I stayed

Hinting for me to runaway

But where can anyone run to?

With not belonging to any group of love

Shuts down the power of being saved

When life on the streets becomes appealing

You know you’ve lost your soul

By feeling so lost and unwanted

The terrors of being homeless at home

Become so deep they bring battles

Ones you just can’t defeat

Defensive armours become strong

And wills to live get weaker

My past home couldn't be my safe haven

So I stand here for myself

Begging for a new beginning

One where being welcomed in

To someones life would have me proud

That it could be my one chance at proving perseverance

And outshine the earth on where I belong.

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Keanna Barry

Give me a chance to help you with my own words?

My writing is intended to be read by you and the lessons being learned from what i am saying is all i pray and hope for to help improve quality of life for you, me, and like everyone else too!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.