Poets logo

A Pear Shape

Picture that...

By Denise E LindquistPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 3 min read
3
A Pear Shape
Photo by Rebecca Matthews on Unsplash

Okay not that picture above necessarily. Pears come in all sizes, shapes and colors. For the purpose of this short story, we will talk about heavy bottoms and smaller tops and diamonds in multicolors.

Pear Shapes

Almost all body shapes with the pear shape in green

Colorful and different shapes with the pear in greens. I am not considered a pear shape as I am more of an apple shape or in the case of the photo above, more of a lemon, it seems. They got my personality there, as the lemon, I can be sour and mean as wolverines. Most of the time, I’m easy going and lovable, and huggable, sometimes gullible, very verbal and unforgettable.

I especially enjoy talking about diamonds. Then, I know to get them I will need to set aside some funds. There are plenty to talk about. Pear shaped are some of my favorites, I shout. Although any old diamond would do, I tell myself. I have a wedding ring with a marquise shaped diamond, then I had one with a round diamond and an oval shape one too that were then given to our daughter herself. Yes, I have had three wedding rings from three different husbands. What can I say, I especially enjoy them as the saying goes, “diamonds are a girls best friend”, not buzzards. Some diamonds are more colorful than others, on my current ring I have some brown diamonds, in two rows, running around about halfway to the ends. I have had diamond earrings, diamond necklace, diamonds on a watch and diamonds on a bracelet, my friends.

I can lose a diamond or two. Oh my, it is really such a loss too. I was riding my motorcycle with the brown diamond earrings my loving husband gave me for Christmas, when I noticed one was missing. It is not a good idea to wear diamond earrings when you will be putting a helmet on and taking it off and kissing. Good thing I just lost one. To replace it the jeweler said it would be 900 for the stones, not the installation, I thought, I’m done. So, instead of that I had the one I still had mounted on my wedding ring. It’s beautiful, I sing. Then I sing pears, pear trees and pears on my finger and pairs on my ears, yes pears. As I was walking up the stairs, I realized, I had lost another one, while riding my motorcycle. Damn. Sorry Mam. Maybe I should switch to pearls, I think they come in a clam? Do I have to get rid of that bike? Maybe start to hike? Will it change my lemon shape? Can I wear a cape? No, I put the other earring on my mother’s ring. Seven children, with seven stones with the diamond for the grandchildren is quite the thing! It’s a beautiful ring, that I wear on occasion. I try to remember to wear fake diamonds on the bike now, especially on vacation. And I usually remember to do just that now. Okay can I take a bow. No, it is still not a good thing to lose diamonds Denise. I thought maybe I could switch to CZ’s but I can tell the difference, oh please. The husband says, no more diamond earrings from me to you. I guess I will have to get a divorce and maybe sue. Not, I joke, we make the perfect pair. He loves me and gives me beautiful jewelry that I probably share. Well, you know if someone found the lost earring to wear.

Pear shaped diamond

Green pear shaped diamonds

I kind of like the green pear. What do you think of them, and how much will they be? Do I dare? Well, enough about pears. And for sure enough of staring at pairs. If I should win PCH then maybe. Or sell a book that makes me enough money to buy them baby. Let me leave this short story with a thought. I wouldn't eat the pear in the first picture, it doesn't look appetizing, unless it was pealed and cooked and I ate it hot.

performance poetry
3

About the Creator

Denise E Lindquist

I am married with 7 children, 27 grands, and 12 great-grandchildren. I am a culture consultant part-time. I write A Poem a Day in February for 8 years now. I wrote 4 - 50,000 word stories in NaNoWriMo. I write on Vocal/Medium weekly.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.