Poets logo

All I Know About a Pear Tree

Not Much!

By Denise E LindquistPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1
All I Know About a Pear Tree
Photo by Michèle Lippus on Unsplash

All I know about a pear tree, is not much, as they don't grow around me. I know about apples, blueberries, raspberries, strawberries, cherries, rhubarb and a few others you see.

I see apples, and grape vines winding up the tree branches. All around the neighborhood, there are some other kinds of tree farms and ranches. Is there really a tree ranch, I blanch.

Not sure what all they grow, a bit disturbing to not know, I hope to get to see some though. Just as long as there is nothing for me to hoe. One little hoe in my direction and I go.

Then I know a partridge in a pear tree to the letter. The hubby says he likes pears, but he likes peaches better. I am tied for first with peaches and pears and an Irish setter.

We won’t say more about that right now, maybe later. I know I could never cook or bake to cater. That is why I threw in the dog, get the focus off of this for a minute longer gator.

I enjoy a fresh, juicy, ripe pear, and I will always share, and sometimes I stare, to get someone else to share their pear. I am generous like that and about the pear, I will always care.

My mother would bake her share of pear pies, and cakes and she was the pear cookie maker. And it didn’t matter the ingredients as she always was the favorite baker.

She would can peaches and pears for the winter and freeze blueberries. And raspberries, and apples, yes please, then there were all the other berries.

Our large family enjoyed the sauce throughout all the fall, winter and springs. And what about the summertime picking all those berries and other things.

We always had a large garden to tend to and the weeds would never take over in my mother’s garden. Mom would say how we had to can food for the winter and have a large garden as it is just something you do when you have big families. So I decided early on I wouldn't be a warden.

I would have a small family, maybe a child or two. I figured it was just too much work for more than that and I had all I could do. It turned out that I did only give birth to two. The husbands on the other hand had 5 others for me too.

Seven children, have twenty-five grandchildren, who have 8 great grandchildren, with one on the way. I can a little fruit and grow a few veggies sometimes as those children can take care of their own, I say.

A pear a day, keeps the doctor away? Oops, that is an apple a day… I told you I don’t know much about a pear tree today. Maybe by next May.

What kind of a grandma am I. I have a favorite grandpa, I sigh. He is good with kids of all ages. He doesn’t always enjoy the teen stages. But who does? They are breaking away and we have to get ready to let them go is the buzz.

I was ready to go as the oldest child with five siblings when I was about fifteen, married by seventeen. No gardening, no berry picking, no pears or children for me for a while, and especially no teen.

I was glad to have learned it all. I knew it wasn’t a ball. I would just put it all off for a while, a bit of a stall. I preferred a trip to the mall. And I lived in Minneapolis and St. Paul. Well it's time to move away from the fruit and veggie haul! Enjoy your day you'll!!

performance poetry
1

About the Creator

Denise E Lindquist

I am married with 7 children, 27 grands, and 12 great-grandchildren. I am a culture consultant part-time. I write A Poem a Day in February for 8 years now. I wrote 4 - 50,000 word stories in NaNoWriMo. I write on Vocal/Medium weekly.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.