Poets logo

A Pain of a Spirit

Death spirit Pain

By Vivid MasonganyikaPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Like
A Pain of a Spirit
Photo by Alexander Grey on Unsplash

A pain of a leaving spirit

I am but a spirit, floating here in space,

Watching from above, as my body lays in place.

My heart no longer beats, my breath no longer drawn,

I'm free from earthly pains, but the pain is not yet gone.

I see my loved ones weeping, crying out in grief,

Wondering why I left them, feeling such a sense of disbelief.

They cannot feel my presence, nor hear my whispered words,

I'm just a memory now, a voice that's rarely heard.

I feel their pain so deeply, it echoes in my soul,

I wish I could ease their burden, make them feel whole.

But I am just a spirit, a specter in the night,

Watching from the shadows, as they struggle with their plight.

I see the flowers they bring, the tears that they shed,

As they stand around my body, I hear the things they said.

They talk of memories, of happy times gone by,

But the pain is still so fresh, and it's hard to say goodbye.

I wish that they could feel me, just a little bit,

To know that I'm still with them, that I haven't quit.

But I am just a spirit, and they can't see or touch,

So I watch in silence, feeling helpless and as such.

The pain is not just theirs, it's mine as well to bear,

As I watch from up above, in a world so cold and bare.

I wonder what comes next, what's waiting on the other side,

As I leave this earthly realm, and into the great divide.

But for now, I'll stay awhile, and watch my loved ones weep,

Hoping that my presence will comfort them in their sleep.

I'll whisper in their dreams, and send them gentle signs,

To let them know I'm with them, that they're still on my mind.

The pain will slowly ease, but the memories will remain,

Of a spirit that once lived, and now is free from pain.

I'll watch from up above, as they continue on their way,

And hope that someday soon, we'll meet again one day.

fact or fictionheartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Vivid Masonganyika

Hi there! My name is Vivid, and I'm a professional comic writer based in Zimbabwe. I'm passionate about comics, health research, and love stories, and I love sharing my knowledge and experiences with others.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.