Poets logo

A Nowhere Place

Too far did I roam

By Teralyn PilgrimPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 1 min read
This is a mistake, a blight. I just want to go home.

Too far did I roam

This life was a mistake, a blight

I just want to go home

*

The nasty heat shimmers like chrome

The air here never smelled right

Too far did I roam

*

I would have left had I known

The snickers of others, the words that bite

I just want to go home

*

I once lived in forests and fertile loam

Blinking stars that sing at night

Too far did I roam

*

A ticket bought, savings blown

I pack my suitcase tight

I can finally go home

*

Mind of rage and mouth of foam

It escalated again, our fight

Once again, I long to roam

I just want to go home

heartbreak

About the Creator

Teralyn Pilgrim

Teralyn Pilgrim has an MFA in Creative Writing from Western New England University and a BA in English from Brigham Young University. Her work has been published in the Copperfield Review.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Teralyn PilgrimWritten by Teralyn Pilgrim

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.