Poets logo

A Night's Journey

A Dream Poem

By James AlbertPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
(AI Generated Image)

We’re at the front of the line,

I don’t really remember waiting

My heart flutters,

as the bars lower over my chest

The row of cars starts to move,

slowly , then quicker

It begins to climb uphill

I can’t see the top, but then,

we’re at the peak

I peer down

The tracks are now an overpass,

miles above the ground

The row of cars, now only one,

complete with a steering wheel and airbags

The drop, still there, plunging into eternity

As the car dives downhill,

I hold tightly to the wheel,

- struggling not to pee

Our screams wither as we reach the bottom

The road is gone

A dirt path, stretching in front of us

The car, now a jeep,

rumbles down the path,

surrounded by trees and tall grass

A herd of sauropods

gingerly leaf through the treetops

I turn to look at you,

but you’re not the same person

I’m not even sure if I know who you are now

Quickly though, I realize,

I shouldn't have taken my eyes off the road

I look forward, across the bow of a boat

We’re hurriedly drifting,

ever closer to the edge of a waterfall

The sound of crashing water, thunders

We scramble to find anything to hold onto

I see only mist as we plunge downward

The water roars louder

When we impact, my eyes shoot open

I am alone

- I still have to pee

sad poetrysurreal poetrynature poetry

About the Creator

James Albert

Hoping to share my love of poetry and find a unique voice among the cacophony. Some dark humor, a little adventure, a little irony, mostly strange. Please comment if you like something... or if you don't. `V(^c^)V`

''linguistically adequate"

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

  • Donna Renee2 years ago

    great...now I have to pee too ;)

  • Isaac Hall2 years ago

    Weird and funny and relatable, particularly for those with a habit of drinking a tall glass of water before bed! Lol

James AlbertWritten by James Albert

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.