Poets logo

A Nearly Perfect Afterschool Treat

We just had to locate that piece of lemon zest

By Barb DukemanPublished 30 days ago 1 min read
4
A Nearly Perfect Afterschool Treat
Photo by Evan Reimer on Unsplash

Around the corner Autumn brings it chill;

The trip to school I’m bundled up in coats.

With leaves of red and orange up the hill

I slowly trudged to class to take my notes.

~

At noon I opened up my paper sack

Consisting of a sandwich and some chips.

Daydreaming of returning to a snack

My nana made that played up my lips.

~

A pudding rice from Italy she cooked

Delicious and from scratch she made each day

A creamy treat with sweetness – I was hooked!

The end of school I ran home straight away.

~

The only thing disheartening my zeal

Was biting on that damnèd lemon peel.

SonnethumorFamily
4

About the Creator

Barb Dukeman

After 32 years of teaching high school English, I've started writing again and loving every minute of it. I enjoy bringing ideas to life and the concept of leaving behind a legacy.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • D.K. Shepard29 days ago

    Lovely! And what a charming final couplet!! Great work, Barb!

  • Ward Norcutt30 days ago

    I do so love a sonnet. Nice job, Barb. Good ol' rice pudding - almost made my list. happy writing.

  • Babs Iverson30 days ago

    Fantastic family snack!!! Loved it!!!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.