Poets logo

A Mystery Crime Thriller

Solved in an unexpected way

By Colleen Millsteed Published 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 2 min read
5
Image courtesy of Pixabay

Another day, another reason to want to escape reality

Through opening up the magical pages of a good book,

I find the older the writing, the better I’m able to escape

As only the best stories survive, so they’re worth a look.

***

This book I’ve chosen today is old, practically ancient

So I’m excited to see the adventure it will teleport me,

Will it be a world way off on another planet, possibly

Or off to a future decade or two, we will wait and see.

***

The book is so old that the title is no longer readable

So I carefully turn the first few yellow stained pages,

To find the title of a story that’s set in a country town

I’m engrossed as each chapter sets multiple stages.

***

It’s written about a small boy abducted from his home

By who, I do not yet know but I do have my suspicions,

Could it be by his father, or someone wanting a child

Or a spur of the moment, due to the right conditions?

***

Page after page, I’m lost in this poor little boy’s world

Emotionally invested as if I was involved in the tale,

I’m wishing for his rescue, as is his friends and family

When the police discover a ransom request in the mail.

***

This story takes an unbelievable twist, unexpectedly

As a witch is called on to cast a spell, an effort to aid,

She sits on the family’s front lawn, green and luscious

Working her magic spell for which she has been paid.

***

Movement of some kind can be seen in front of her

As a private army of insects, bright red lady bugs,

Each hard shell on their back covered in polka dots

Highlighting their armour which is as red as blood.

***

They scatter to the winds, in every single direction

Looking for the necessary clues of this abduction,

Each teeny tiny bug will smell out the toddler’s scent

Once found they’ll take onboard the new instruction.

***

The kidnapper’s in for a surprise as they overrun him

And send messages and directions back to the witch,

The police descend and place him under house arrest

The little boy’s delivered back home without a hitch.

**************************************************

If you liked my writing, please click on the small heart underneath, near my name. Or send me a tip and let me know you enjoyed it.

****

Please click the link below my name to read more of my work. I would also like to thank you for taking the time to read this today and for all your support.

If you enjoy this piece, you may enjoy this one too.

Originally posted on Medium

book reviews
5

About the Creator

Colleen Millsteed

My first love is poetry — it’s like a desperate need to write, to free up space in my mind, to escape the constant noise in my head. Most of the time the poems write themselves — I’m just the conduit holding the metaphorical pen.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Mariann Carroll2 years ago

    Love it 😍

  • Cathy holmes2 years ago

    This is great. Can't believe I'm just finding it now.

  • Another brilliant poem from you. Loved the concept of the witch using the lady bugs. Loved this storypoem!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.