Poets logo

My Transported Stage

Off an an adventure

By Colleen Millsteed Published 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 2 min read
5
Image courtesy of Pixabay

A day of relaxing, a good book on hand

Off on an adventure, travelling the land,

It’s a mystery, as I turn each fragile page

The written word, my transported stage.

***

I gently peel back the tattered front cover

Hyped with excitement, what’ll I discover,

As I skim through the foreword’s content

And I dive on in, so I escape the present.

***

As carefully as possible I turn to the start

The pages old and yellowed, falling apart,

It is a well read book, I wonder it’s secrets

Loosing myself further without any regrets.

***

The story begins with games to be played

Throw the dice, there’s money to be made,

We have a winner folks, the man in black

Rakes in the pot, he keeps the entire stack.

***

The winner waltzes from the gaming table

Walking out the back to the livery stable,

The attendant brings him his black horse

The winner rides off, happily in due course.

***

Is that the end of this story, oh surely not

There’s got to be more, maybe a sinister plot,

I continue to read, pursuing the journey

The main character is an actual attorney.

***

He and his horse are heading to his client

To discuss his plea, but the client’s defiant,

My heart beating fast at the turn of the tale

The attorney promising the criminal no jail.

***

If he’d just plead guilty, it’s a minor crime

Sentenced to menial service to do his time,

Shipped to a lighthouse, a deserted island

On a Scottish shore, up near the highland.

***

A year saving ships from certain destruction

Good behaviour will see a slight reduction,

With his sentence completed, he’ll be free

No longer cited the government’s detainee.

***

I lower the book, wondering why he stalls

Maybe he didn’t commit the crime at all,

I guess time will tell as I steadily read more

If he is innocent surely there’ll be an uproar.

***

I find myself torn, the sign of a good book

I want to read more but I’ve dinner to cook,

It’ll heighten my anticipation so I will wait

To discover what will be the criminal’s fate.

****************************************

If you liked my writing, please click on the small heart underneath, near my name. Or send me a tip and let me know you enjoyed it.

****

Please click the link below my name to read more of my work. I would also like to thank you for taking the time to read this today and for all your support.

If you enjoy this piece, you may enjoy this one too.

Originally posted on Medium

social commentary
5

About the Creator

Colleen Millsteed

My first love is poetry — it’s like a desperate need to write, to free up space in my mind, to escape the constant noise in my head. Most of the time the poems write themselves — I’m just the conduit holding the metaphorical pen.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  4. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Cathy holmes2 years ago

    Oh this is great. I'm glad I found it.

  • Russell Ormsby 2 years ago

    Nice one Colleen. Your poem so succinctly explains to non-readers why those of us enjoy reading. Well done and perfectly thought out.👍

  • Omg! I loved this! As you already know, I love escaping reality by reading a book. And just like in your poem, I love mystery thriller kinda genre. And I too lower the book to wonder about something that's happening in the book. And it frustrates me when I have to do something else so I can't find out what's gonna happen. The whole poem was so relatable and I loved it!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.