Poets logo

A Mother’s Broken Heart

A love letter to the Moms of Special Needs Kids

By Melissa UPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1
A Mother’s Broken Heart
Photo by Nick Quan on Unsplash

My darling it’s time to go to school.

Something that pains me more then you.

I know at school I’m not there to protect you to help you and kids can be so cruel.

I think about you all day long and pray to God nothing goes wrong.

What did she mean when she said your a “werido” was she messing around, joking?

Or was she poking fun and provoking?

You may be different, they may not understand you but that my Darling is more special then you realize.

And behind my eyes theres tears a Mother’s Broken Heart but she keeps it close and dear.

For one day everything will be okay. Your smart and kind some might think your a little behind

But I can see your shine ✨ that shine that straightens my spine, grabs my boot straps and keeps my chin up

You hop out of my car excited for today, these kids are so brave, fearless and strong to say they don’t belong, shut your mouth because you couldn’t be more wrong!

To the mothers out there who nervously wave their child off for the day, sheds a tear as they roll away

Looks to the heavens and prays and prays for God to send a friend to play

I know our mornings are much different then others

But to all My Special Needs Mother’s

As you turn that corner I know those broken pieces are stabbing thru but I promise you that kid you sent off to school , that beautiful jewel

Will be ok. And one day Mama so will you.

inspirational
1

About the Creator

Melissa U

I hope you enjoy my brain movies

If you like my stories please give it a ❤️ If you’d like to 💰me 😎👍but a like tells me people actually enjoyed my story and means a lot to people who are super scared to release their art into the 🌎❤️

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.