Poets logo

A Modern Day Elizabeth Bennett

21 Century Austen

By Sara AuldsPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
3
A Modern Day Elizabeth Bennett
Photo by Timothy Barlin on Unsplash

One does not forget the smell of a freshy bought book

The smell of an old book, or the smell of their favorite book

Pages slide between my fingers, guiding my eyes to find the next hook to draw in my attention

Pause

Sip

Sip the warm, dark goodness as I fight off the coolness from the rainy window next to where I sit

Rain

Rain like the misty-eyed writings of Miss Austen in my lap

My eyes gazed past the water droplets racing along the glass, longing to see my Mr. Darcy strolling up the drive

Eyes growing heavy from the warm liquid and the soothing pitter-patter of the rain

I slip into a soft sleep

Cozy

Warm

Dreaming of my Mr. Darcy’s embrace

Safe and sound I am again

fact or fictioninspirationallove poemsperformance poetrysurreal poetryvintage
3

About the Creator

Sara Aulds

I am a photographer and videographer from Cincinnati, Ohio. I write as a hobby and capture reality as a profession.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  4. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran2 years ago

    This was fantastic! Books, coffee, rain, sleep, Mr Darcy. What more could a girl ask for 💖

  • No one and everyone is good at poetry , we all find fault with oure own work while others love it. Go with the opinion of others, I love your lines.

  • Cathy holmes2 years ago

    It's beautiful. Well done.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.