Poets logo

A million shades of Green

Discovering me

By Rebecca HaynesPublished 3 years ago 2 min read

Fractured, but unbroken

I gently unfurl from the tightened curl

I have been resting in.

It’s been some while now

In this not-quite-dream state.

It has cocooned me, but I am ready now

To stretch and bloom;

Open my vulnerability to share her

One tentative, petalled finger at a time.

The soft, new green of life ready,

Eager to be seen.

Bruised & tender & resilient -

I reach out to touch the world.

As I emerge, I seem at first, ashen.

But this is just the outer skin I wear -

I come alive as I satiate my thirst, drinking deep

And discard the cloak that hid me from the insistent stare

Of stultifying expectation.

The dried husk is cast off

Crumbling to dust, forgotten on the wind.

Protector from unknowingness and other layered,

Fractured souls?

Or maybe it was womb in which I lived?

No matter;

No need to capture in name the skin I peel

As I continue to reveal, excited to show

My newness, my willingness to drink in life.

Vibrant, jewelled green of aliveness,

Pure potentiality – incandescent shine

Of moss and bud and stem and shoot -

Forever now, this time.

All the while I thought I was deadened

By the harsh, persistent clamour

Of a confusing, frightening, alien place

When all I needed was the solace of

Space

To breathe

The sweetness of pure, intentional breath.

I breathe

Enlivening my atoms with true breath –

Opening, outgrowing the protective sheathe

I evolve and elevate beyond the cacophonous noise;

The drilling roar of inanity

Entering beauteous silence. Magnificence; I rejoice.

I was not dried nor deadened at all –

I was at rest and preparing to grow

Bigness from something so seemingly small.

Infinity in tiny shell

That cracked wide open to reveal

The illusion of the imagined self.

I climb and soar and defy my mind

As I reach the skies and somewhere and nowhere beyond.

‘See in me in the green’, comes my exultant call.

And I meet the million shades more –

Dazzling, dizzying, all the colours green

As we birth the world with vibrancy

A new vibration, frequency

That paints in colours ecstatic & magical -

Never before have they been heard or felt or seen.

New paradigm of colour, palette fresh:

A million shades of green.

inspirational

About the Creator

Rebecca Haynes

I love fiercely and write with passion. My drive is to see humanity awaken to our divinity and contribute to the creation of a world that sees compassion at its core. The Gentle Ones are beckoning in the change - it is for you I write.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Rebecca HaynesWritten by Rebecca Haynes

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.