Poets logo

A Memento Of The Old World

Before all was destroyed by man

By Colleen Millsteed Published 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 2 min read
Top Story - July 2022
34
Image courtesy of Pixabay

I’m standing in my new apartment, looking out the window

For as far as the eye can see, there are man-made buildings,

One level houses, three storey hotels, fifty floor office towers

Is it really worth the cost, even with all that trim and gilding?

***

There is not one ounce of greenery in sight, not even one

No plants, no lawns, no shady trees, no nature to be seen,

Just building after building or roads and tarmac’s galore

Plants removed, destroyed, no hint of where they’d been.

***

I turn away from the view, overcome with sadness, despair

What have we done to our world, is this our kids inheritance,

No more nature to enjoy, parks for leisure or trees to climb

Or do we excuse it, citing it’s necessary for our experiments?

***

I cannot look out the window anymore, not without the pain

I go back to my unpacking, placing books upon the shelves,

When I come across two miniature models I do so treasure

The last of their kind, glorious, so precious in themselves.

***

I’ve held these models for decades, to be passed to my heir

A memento of the old world, before man totally destroyed it,

When such things as a rainforest hike, a day on the beach

Skiing down a snow encrusted mountain, all as we saw fit.

***

I look down at my two hands, at the preciousness nestled

On each of my palms, gazing in awe and wonder for both,

One hand holds a miniature model of our precious world

And the other holds the rarity of a miniature tree in growth.

***

My future children will not know the world as it once was

These models are the closest they’ll ever get, so truly sad,

Man has made sure the soil is no longer fertile or enriched

And their destruction has made me so frustratingly mad!

*****************************************************

If you liked my writing, please click on the small heart underneath, near my name. Or send me a tip and let me know you enjoyed it.

****

Please click the link below my name to read more of my work. I would also like to thank you for taking the time to read this today and for all your support.

If you enjoy this piece, you may enjoy this one too.

Originally posted on Medium

nature poetry
34

About the Creator

Colleen Millsteed

My first love is poetry — it’s like a desperate need to write, to free up space in my mind, to escape the constant noise in my head. Most of the time the poems write themselves — I’m just the conduit holding the metaphorical pen.

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  4. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (10)

Sign in to comment
  • Grz Colm9 months ago

    Terrific and thoughtful poem Colleen. Great work! 😊

  • Amystic2 years ago

    written beautifully

  • Brenton F2 years ago

    Overlapping waves of beauty and sadness.

  • Jyme Pride2 years ago

    I read this the other day but didn't look at the name of the writer. I was called away to some other activity but said to myself when I find time, I want to read it fully again. I'm so glad I did. What a joy it is!!!!

  • Gerald Holmes2 years ago

    This is spectacular. As David Thomas said below, I love how you showed us who we are thru the lens of your apartment window.

  • Congratulations on your Top Story! This is exactly what the future of Earth will be. Humans are the only species to lay to live on Earth as well as destroy it

  • Cathy holmes2 years ago

    This is fabulous, and sadly, so true

  • David Thomas2 years ago

    I love how authentic and detailed you were in talking about what you saw in your apartment.

  • J. S. Wade2 years ago

    Excellent poem Colleen and congrats on the Top Story. 🥰

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.