Poets logo

A Little ABC About Me

My Individual Portfolio

By Kelli Sheckler-AmsdenPublished 4 months ago Updated 4 months ago 1 min read
13
A Little ABC About Me
Photo by Alexander Grey on Unsplash

A little self-conscience, but I'm working it out

Beautiful dreamer, dispersing my doubt

Carefully conceited, when I let down my guard

Delightfully daring when I reveal my cards

Emotionally stable, on most given days

Faithfully funny, at least that's what they say

Glamorously grungy, comfort at its best

Hungry for knowledge and eating contests

Imagination runs wild, not settling for less

Justifying the past, by doing better, I guess

Keeping my chin up, never getting stuck

Learning from mistakes, not counting on luck

Mellow on the drama, drama makes me feel

Nauseous

Open to suggestions, but like keepin' it honest

Proud of where I come from - though, I strive to be better

Quite the invitation to be a real go getter

Realizing my value and destroying the mold

Shedding the notion, to only do as I'm told

Time is of the essence

Uniquely

Virtual and evanescence

With my heart on my sleeve

Xenial to everyone, AND me

Youth is a term pertaining to far more than a number

Zeal is a must, don't succumb to encumber

*

*

*

**xenial: of, relating to, or constituting hospitality or relations between host and guest

**encumber: hold back

love poemsinspirationalhumorFor Fun
13

About the Creator

Kelli Sheckler-Amsden

Telling stories my heart needs to tell <3 life is a journey, not a competition

If you like what you read, feel free to leave a tip, I would love some feedback

Find me on twitter @kelli7958958

or facebook

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Add your insights

Comments (11)

Sign in to comment
  • Mark Graham3 months ago

    What a great description of self.

  • Sonia Heidi Unruh3 months ago

    What a wonderful self-portrait!

  • Randy Baker3 months ago

    Good job! This was a fun read.

  • Hannah Moore3 months ago

    I love this, it's like the best advert for yourself!

  • Oooo, this was sooooo awesomeeee! Do not succumb to encumber. How about I get you a cucumber? Lol. I'll see myself out

  • Awww, you used my favorite word. And quite nicely, I might add.

  • Judey Kalchik 4 months ago

    Mellow on the drama reminds me of Mellow Yellow!

  • Christian Lee4 months ago

    I like the concept of your Abecedarian as an 'individual portforlio'. Very few interesting moments for me. For example, drama as a source for nausea. The way it's written though doesn't help me visualize the gruesomeness or general discomfort of the nausea though. I was waiting for some kind of climax or release of tension. "Don't succumb to encumber" Personally I resonate with this. No one should conform or give in to a desire that isn't their own. I think this line is at the heart of what you're trying to say in this poem. "Delightfully daring when I reveal my cards" Generally a good line. I just think the "Delightfully" doesn't enhance or add to the picture. Adjectives can be interfering at times, but not to say there isn't a time and place for them. Fun time dwelling your conscience for a moment. :)

  • This was a delightful read… every line! Love the rhyme. “ Delightfully daring when I reveal my cards Emotionally stable, on most given days Faithfully funny, at least that's what they say Glamorously grungy, comfort at its best.”Wish more were like you 😃

  • Babs Iverson4 months ago

    Beautifully written!!! Love it!!!♥️♥️💕

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.