Poets logo

A Litany in the Closet

Poem by Callisto Stars

By Callisto StarsPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

They say: you are too young to know this for sure.

I think but don’t say: no one says that to a straight child.

They say: just wait until you are out of high school to ruin your life.

I think but don’t say: my chest is a cage of wild birds. Let me free them.

They say: it’s okay, just not for my child.

I think but don’t say: that’s not acceptance, that’s tolerance.

They say: you’re tearing our family apart. It’s selfish.

I think but don’t say: love is not selfish. Hate is.

They say: We brought you into this world, we can take you out.

I think but don’t say: I’d welcome the relief.

They say: The world won’t accept you.

I think but don’t say: an army of allies now stand behind me.

They say: don’t be yourself.

I say: watch me.

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Callisto Stars

I am an artist in every medium. Come Explore this facet of me.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.