Poets logo

A Language Imperfect

A Poem

By Justin CarolPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
Like
Photo is of Chana Carol at Monet's garden in Giverny, France. Facebook.com/ChanaCarol

Show me who you are

Not that I don't know

but I could never know enough

I see thoughts in your eyes

expressed through a language imperfect

and I need to know more

Show me who you think I am

Not that I've the right to know

but mirrors can't be trusted

And, if you're going to open up,

you might as well open all the way

fulfilling your need to show more

You think I'm stronger than you

but I'm not

Your strength comes wrapped in graceful ribbons

carrying a weight deceptive in its density

You think me wise while I learn from you

About love

About patience

About peace

You think me brave while I lean on you

On your love

On your patience

On your peace

You show me who you are

I try to see it all

but I could never see enough

Worlds built on words

expressed through a language imperfect

And I need to know more

- Justin Carol

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Justin Carol

Author, poet, songwriter, and thinker of strange thoughts.

Creation is the addiction.

If you spend enough time with my words, you will know who I am.

www.justincarol.com

Social Media: @theJustinCarol

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.