Poets logo

A lamp for my feet, A light for my path

I am me, I am here, It is now and I'm doing the best I can

By Amara Briony W. Published 3 years ago 2 min read
Like

I used to listen to the wind as I’d sit outside under the trees

Instead of a scream or a fight

and flee from the grasp of another day in my life.

I was unaware that a tear would roll down my eyes as

I stood there.. surrounded by the shaded people whom I have to love. Shaded people who taught me

how things are in this world and how I need to fit- fit into to the only thing they know. Black.

I used to run outside to lay there, watching the earth move to remember how small I am in comparison

to the big plan God made for me.. one I have trouble seeing yet heard so much of.

and the wind would soak into my coils as I stare into

The never ending sky above me while the clouds danced in my presence.

Then as the day closes mother sun would pour her light onto my flesh, golden yellow kisses gently

welcoming me into the night.

And all of the light would disappear, and I was left in a world of black as it slowly turned gray.

The church lady’s would say to me“Thou makes darkness, and it is night. Wherein all the beasts of

the forest do creep forth” word for word with their cheap smiles and Holy Ghostless hands.

That may be the only thing I accepted from them. As I’d sit there in this world of black and grey with the

beasts and demons that taunted my days, endlessly.

Endlessly, I’d come to a place in which I would sit- colorless and in pain,

I found old tears and new reasons flowing down my numb brown skin

while my brain is fogged and the despair in my heart deepens

I’d slip away farther and farther to the lands of the shaded people

Their twisted smiles, and empty hearts calling me closer and closer as I had no other choice to follow

but then..

A friend- mother sun would shine her light on me again and that Holy yellow would recall the feeling of

serenity as she kissed me over and over. Shooing away the fog I can hear her saying “let her be”,

helping me see the shining gold inside of this withering soul.

Inside of the ones I love, I choose to love and love me with their full chest.

And now I follow a new scripture.

performance poetry
Like

About the Creator

Amara Briony W.

I am a student at Nazareth College of Rochester. I am currently studying to recieve my BFA in Musical Theatre Performance. I am an activist, book reader and your friendly queer.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.