Poets logo

A King's Coxcomb

Vocal Challenge: In Eclipse

By BellePublished about a month ago 1 min read
3
Kathryn Hunter as The Fool and Greg Hicks as Lear. King Lear (2010), directed by David Farr. Photo by Manuel Harlan. Royal Shakespeare Company. https://www.rsc.org.uk/king-lear/about-the-play/key-moments-and-facts

Eyeless fools could see the happenings here. How the King has not seen the egg-white

Coxcomb on his own head, a figure of his decline following his

Loss of his favourite daughter and the division of himself, a matter which left him but a codpiece. Without hesitancy

In receiving my cautionary counsel, he does not see the folly of his acts.

Prithee, tell me, did the eclipse of his mind warrant my death?

Sirrah, I am gone and she follows me, though now he has discovered the coxcomb I did tell him what about on our bald crowns. Alack, may you now, nuncle,

Extinguish without us your fallacies of what is a wise man and what is a fool...

social commentarysad poetryOdeMental HealthheartbreakAcrostic
3

About the Creator

Belle

I host unofficial challenges and enjoy writing microfiction and poetry.

My current open challenges can be found here.

Over 30k Palestinians have been murdered, 25k orphaned, 70k+ injured. Free Gaza.

ALL EYES ON RAFAH.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Dana Crandell9 days ago

    Brilliant! I've subscribed and will be perusing the rest of your work!

  • Only the fool may become wise! Well-wrought! Subscribed!

  • Rachel Deemingabout a month ago

    I like this King Lear fool exploration. Nicely done. Through the eyes of fools all is clear...

  • D. J. Reddallabout a month ago

    The wisdom of fools is often underestimated, Lear's most of all.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.