Poets logo

A Human, Becoming

A Part

By C. Rommial ButlerPublished 2 years ago 1 min read

A Part

The strong set themselves apart

And learn to bear the cold.

The weak huddle together for warmth

And molest each other in their sleep.

What is this?

What is this life?

Life is fatal.

Fatal.

If only it were an escape...

***** * *****

Talking to Myself and Nobody's Home

“How did you know?”

“How could I not know, looking down from the top of the mountain, watching and listening from such a distance as you spoke to my projection, my ghost? How could I not know as I watched you walk the path I walked, holding desperately to all the same illusions I was forced to cast aside? How could I not know that you would fall into the abyss when I knew from every question you asked and every protest you made to the truth that you perceived a bridge where there is not and never will be one? How could I expect you to make a great leap, when you made it clear that you did not expect to have to jump? In the end I had no choice but to withdraw my phantom, my oracle, my wisdom, and

Watch

You

Fall.

I fell with you that day, but I did not feel your pain. Worse—far worse: I was forced to tear open my old wounds while you licked yours, searching for a way to save us both.”

“Did you find a way?”

“NO.”

***** * *****

Weakness or Strength?

When an excess of strength

Is our weakness,

We must beware

Lest we hurt ourselves

By pushing too hard.

***** * *****

A Human, Becoming

Imagine a humanity where instead of relegating our beautiful, complex consciousness to a herd or pack mentality, we realized ourselves as human beings.

We should seek neither to be wolves nor sheep, but to finally define what it is to be a human being.

Or a human, becoming.

***** * *****

Nocturne, A Prelude to Becoming:

Other poems by C. Rommial Butler:

surreal poetry

About the Creator

C. Rommial Butler

C. Rommial Butler is a writer, musician and philosopher from Indianapolis, IN. His works can be found online through multiple streaming services and booksellers.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (2)

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran2 years ago

    I loved the part where you said too much strength is also a weakness. A very eye opening poem

  • Cathy holmes2 years ago

    Very nice

C. Rommial ButlerWritten by C. Rommial Butler

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.