Poets logo

Be True and Follow You Happiness Will

No Pain, No Gain

By C. Rommial ButlerPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
10
Water Flows

I am not here for fun.

Fun is a side effect.

I am not here for happiness.

Happiness is a side effect.

I am here to be true

And sometimes truth hurts.

In a different sense

The old maxim applies:

No pain, no gain.

The truth is:

I am not here.

For upon being,

I become.

Identity fragments,

But fragments

Form identity

That must ever evolve.

There is no integrity

That is Not

Bound to Change.

Stagnation turns

The elements

To poison.

Water must flow, eroding channels

In the Earth, new life grows.

Air must be free to move,

Feeding the Fire, body and soul.

Be true

And follow you

Happiness will.

Dusk Approaches

Other poetry by C. Rommial Butler:

inspirationalnature poetry
10

About the Creator

C. Rommial Butler

C. Rommial Butler is a writer, musician and philosopher from Indianapolis, IN. His works can be found online through multiple streaming services and booksellers.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Jay Kantor12 months ago

    Sup CR ~ Such a gorgeous stream; makes me want to toss my 'Hook' into it ~ Nah! Coincidence: I've just written one with a slightly different slant - Just me being me - * You may have missed the 'Shout-Out' I Quipped about you yesterday? It may have gotten shuffled into all of the others? Simply, I so appreciate your brilliant creativity and wanted to let ALL know that! J-Bud

  • C. H. Richard2 years ago

    Loved this! Happiness will follow when one is true!

  • This was awesome! Loved how you said fun and happiness is a side effect. I always believed fun and happiness is a short break in between two sorrows

  • Excellent poem. I loved it. It took me a long time to be true to myself as a gay man. Now I am much happier. Thank you

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.