Poets logo

A Howling Good Time

Happy Halloween

By N.J. Gallegos Published 7 months ago 1 min read
5
A Howling Good Time
Photo by Jr Korpa on Unsplash

Halloween.

Kids with tummy aches from too many sweets.

Sliced fingers courtesy of Jack-O-Lanterns.

Plus... drugs. And not the edibles hidden in trick-or-treaters' treasures like the news claimed.

When the cops hauled in a patient on meth dressed as a werewolf, I adjusted my devil horns and grabbed my stethoscope.

"Found him in the graveyard baying at the moon."

"Of course," I muttered.

His costume? Pristine. Yellowed eyes, bushy fur.

I peered in his mouth, my what teeth!

CHOMP!

Fangs ripped flesh.

I shrieked.

Fire coursed through me and the pregnant moon beckoned.

I howled.

Not a costume after all.

surreal poetry
5

About the Creator

N.J. Gallegos

Howdy! I’m an ER doc who loves horror, especially with a medical bent. Voted most witty in high school so I’m like, super funny. First novel coming out in Fall 2023! Follow me on Twitter @DrSpooky_ER.

Check me out: https://njgallegos.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Natalie Demoss7 months ago

    Yay! Werewolves! I love this.

  • Kendall Defoe 7 months ago

    Yikes! A nice turn here... 🐺

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.