Poets logo

A Home in The Darkness

A Transcription of a Personal Soliloquy

By Lusus Sylvanus PowhatanPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 1 min read
Image Borrowed from the website 'Pexels', I claim no rights nor ownership to this image.

Home.

A word that I've been dancing with, forever and a time.

Is it the places that I've lived? Is it the kin that I've called mine?

Is it the love I feel around me or the light that fills me up?

Is home a home-cooked meal, served with fluid in a cup?

If home is a sense of belonging, I'm afraid it's escaped my grasp.

The word home is a puzzle, a challenge, to pursuit of it's solving I clasp.

The concept feels outside my purview, it seems to me I cannot know,

The feeling of knowing what Home is, until I can step back and let go.

I do so.

I step back.

I think.

I ponder.

I wonder.

And then...

I see.

Home isn't light, life, nor love.

It isn't the places I've lived.

It isn't the people around me,

and it's not the support that they give.

Nay.

Home is my chest's rising tension, the rate of my heartbeat up high.

Home is the pain and the darkness, that I see in the mirror in my eyes.

It's the things I regret and the choices I've made that if I could go back I would change.

It's the memories of traumas long past, of abuses quite wholly deranged.

It's the burdens that weigh on my heart and my soul.

It's the struggle that makes me feel caged.

It's the stress strain and heartache that puts me at risk, and makes me feel withered and aged.

Home is the hate and the rage of the world. The darkness that urges me on.

Without all my pain I am nothing, I'd wake empty each morning at dawn.

For I must say I thrive feeling desperate, exhaustion to me is a fuel.

Home is the worst of the worst in my life...

I'd be lost if the world weren't cruel.

art

About the Creator

Lusus Sylvanus Powhatan

Your community guidelines make it clear that anything that is not puritanically moral is not welcome.

"We don't want to limit anyone's creative freedom". Liars.

I thought I was joining a community when i signed up... Vocal Media is a lie.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Lusus Sylvanus PowhatanWritten by Lusus Sylvanus Powhatan

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.