Poets logo

a hollow fireplace 1.1

By: Mona Yonus

By Mona YonusPublished 9 months ago 1 min read
5
a hollow fireplace 1.1
Photo by Timothy Dykes on Unsplash

i go to house, where

in the empty fireplace

burns fire in an image of contraire

house has no fire or grace

everything i say is a lie

if only i’d try

i lost my will to myself

in the muddy puddles stuck in my shelf

i know i'm going crazy

but in your eclectic awakening

my being is hazy

images of the lost ring

accompanied by the heart

which shuts itself in

the glass window, where your art

lies among my tainted kin

in slow dizziness it's fading

where is it going

i can’t see the stars

in my displaced forgotten rhyming

truth only becomes colors as

that is all left

among the flowers which i can’t see

i see nothing right

birch trees might die here

i listen to my life disappear

inside the comforting crackles of the

empty fire, where

can I be here

the warmth of the fire

smooths my past

like the breath

i see when the cold encompasses

my outermost soul on my eyes

why is it over

why know

the bird-tree droops in sorrow

surreal poetry
5

About the Creator

Mona Yonus

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran9 months ago

    Droops in sorrow. I especially loved that! You did a fantastic job on this poem!

  • Manisha Dhalani9 months ago

    It's like I can visualize this - your words have power.

  • Brin J.9 months ago

    "the warmth of the fire smooths my past like the breath i see when the cold encompasses" I loved this part.♥️ So vivid and poetic.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.