Poets logo

A History of Repeating

By Brianna Galligan

By Brianna Lynn GalliganPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
Like

How can I tell you what to think

There are no words for shame.

To turn my head and walk away

While you still scream my name.

The pain, the hurt and agony

Of hatred and of doubt

Of which you push and prod me still

Will someday fizzle out.

The hurt I feel of this betrayal

Echoes in my mind.

To understand your point of view,

Impossible. I am blind.

I cannot give you sympathy

When I’ve done nothing wrong.

I cannot give you empathy

When my heart’s an empty song.

Do not tell me how you hate

Because your way’s not met.

Do not tell me how you feel.

To me, your pain can’t get.

I’ve faced more you than you will know .

You play a tired game.

I’m stronger than you think I am.

You will not ever maim.

social commentary
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.