Poets logo

A Girlhood

The era of us

By SariahPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 3 min read
Top Story - April 2023
46
A Girlhood
Photo by Brandon Couch on Unsplash

Dear K.,

Once again you cross the plains of my mind

a youthful, 12 year old face of warm brown skin

as unforgettable as your dimpled cheeks

I wonder what you’d think if you knew

the weight your memory holds

.

I imagine what you saw, the day you chose me

All skinny limbs and chapped lips, braces and unkempt curls–

a late bloomer, late in every way

Always behind, always running

reaching and wanting

to catch up,

to be liked and social but

too timid and fresh out of my shell

.

It was you who caught me, you

who put me at ease under your wing

who taught me how to sharpen my tongue,

to toughen my skin, to

learn the art of conversation

and immature humor

.

.

Those early days I like to recall the most

Us and skid-marked marble school floors

the ambience of preteen chatter in the lunch room where,

with obnoxious laughter, you drew from me

my very first cuss word

.

The swell of pride in your eyes I will never forget

Nor can I forget my own heated face

beaming happily, as happily we

broke down the walls of my inhibitions

my childhood innocence

my need to be the perfect child

The choice had never been mine,

not before you

.

Crumbled walls made way for confidence,

a new foundation and

over the years we’d spend together from

dark movie theaters in the spring to

air-conditioned malls during the summer to

sharing moments on park swings under warm suns in the fall,

you left me with memories to last a lifetime

Memories that light my soul, still

Molding me like a piece of clay

.

.

Do you remember,

the last letter you wrote to me?

The day we graduated knowing, somehow,

our time together was ending?

.

Inside jokes, written and unwritten

the nod of acknowledgement to boyish days when

we were ugly and rough without a care in the world, because

we would only embrace femininity,

sensuality and softness

like a warm long-awaited hug

after we parted ways

.

Even in writing,

your restrained but obvious affection for me

encompassed everything we meant to each other,

everything we meant

Our friendship wasn’t perfect,

but it was wholesome

full of laughter and adventure

and ours

.

.

Sometimes I wish I’d gotten your number

at that dingy train station where we last crossed paths

You had looked so good

So beautiful,

just as I knew you always had been

.

But part of me knew, even then, that

maybe it was better to just wonder

To say to myself “remember when…?”

and instead, be grateful for the few chapters of my life where

you, intrinsically tied to me, decided to pass by

.

It’s here, between the lines of your last letter to me,

I let our friendship end

Your last words I still cling to, K.

My first true friend

.

“Have a nice life

I hope you don’t screw it up

Please don’t.”

.

Your late bloomer, always,

-Sariah

slam poetry
46

About the Creator

Sariah

Another creative soul with a few half-written books on the way.

I’m here to find inspiration, grow as a writer and see what happens :)

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

Add your insights

Comments (16)

Sign in to comment
  • Jill Harper-Judd3 months ago

    Oh man! That is so beautiful, evocative, familiar...wow. Congratulations!!

  • Gosh this was so breathtaking! Congratulations on your Top Story!

  • Dana Crandellabout a year ago

    Beautifully written. Congratulations on your Top Story!

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    Beautiful poem. Congrats on the top story

  • Robbie Cheadleabout a year ago

    A compelling and beautiful poem.

  • Tiffany Gordon about a year ago

    phenomenal writing! What a sweet gem this piece is! Congrats on your Top Story!

  • L.C. Schäferabout a year ago

    Beautiful!

  • Beautiful. Simply sweet & poignant & wistful & beautiful.

  • C. H. Richardabout a year ago

    Stunning words of true friendship even though she is in your past, she is in your heart. It resonated with me and made me think of old friend of mine. Loved this line, " I wonder what you would think if you knew the weight your memory holds." Just beautiful ❤️

  • Testabout a year ago

    Oh wow, what a beautiful poem. So moving, Sariah! Congrats on your Top Story and best of luck in the challenge with this stunning piece. Hearted and subscribed.

  • Ahna Lewisabout a year ago

    Beautiful! Loved sharing in this story of friendship. Congrats on Top Story!

  • Cendrine Marrouatabout a year ago

    What a beautiful poem! Very well written, with emotions that oozes out of every word. Kudos!

  • Heather Hublerabout a year ago

    You could feel the honesty and sincerity in every word. What a wonderful part of your life to share. Beautiful work :) Congratulations on Top Story!

  • ARCabout a year ago

    This is amazing, Sariah. The whole piece has this feel of taking place in enchanted sunlight. Beautiful. Thank you for sharing this part of yourself with us.

  • Morgana Millerabout a year ago

    Beautiful, Sariah. I feel this so much, my adolescence was of being the introvert waiting for the extrovert to adopt me. This reminds me of a few of my own long lost friends 💕

  • Nice and Congratulations on your TopStory🎉 💖😉

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.