Poets logo

A Fool's Decree

and the compunction that never existed

By Jeffrey SparksPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
A Fool's Decree
Photo by Islander Images on Unsplash

Fool me once

Shame on me

Fool me twice

To fool me into matrimony

But a fool would be a compliment

For how I see me

I thought after you were caught

You at least could of believed

in my grounds

for an apology

But that idea only found

its way into the breeze

Because it required effort

For you to concede

Any or all your deceit

And if you ever had any compunction

Well, I guess didn’t see

So, I will take the blame and

Wear the jester hat of a fool’s shame

The very same you have refused to carry

Even before we were married,

Because I was more than a fool when

I thought you could change

But admitting mistakes

is not the name of your game

Somehow when the word is remorse,

you have trouble remembering its name

Fool me once

Shame on me

Fool me twice

To fool me into a divorce’s decree

Thank you for taking the time to read A Fool's Decree. If you have time, please check out Panes of Glass below, which was featured as a Top Story.

https://vocal.media/poets/panes-of-glass

Likes, comments, subscriptions are all very much appreciated.

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Jeffrey Sparks

Adversity is kindling I choose to burn to keep my hands warm in winter ensuring my words will stretch beyond the years that turn my bones to dust.

Any and all, subscribers, pledges and comments are welcome.

Thanks for reading!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.