Poets logo

A few hundred pounds

What friends do

By Joshua MorrisonPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
A few hundred pounds
Photo by Josue Escoto on Unsplash

Once I carried a million pounds.....the pain was obvious for miles around

And all the people gathered to see.....why this wait is bothering me

Some offered to help and some were oblivious.....so I lightened the load to just under a million

The people did cheer and give a great shout.....so I went on my way with a head full of doubt

By Kitera Dent on Unsplash

When I came to the mountain I was week in the knees....I decided to rest underneath some trees

When up out of nowhere my friend did show up.....we had a great talk which lifted me up

When I started to leave they said I'll lighten the load....I said you don't have too he said...I know

I want to do this...your a friend of mine.....with just a few thousand pounds...hell we'll have a good time

By Luke Richardson on Unsplash

So we start up the mountain and stop at the peak.....we knew that are journey was almost complete

I turn to my friend and say I can't thank you enough....they said that's what friends do....when your friend needs some Love

By Helena Lopes on Unsplash

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Joshua Morrison

A musician, poet, and writer who is a bit of a late bloomer. I'm just now discovering my love of writing and started it off with a children's book which got a contract on my first submittal!!! But man do I like short stories!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.