Poets logo

A Different Kind of Drunk

A Poem

By Atomic HistorianPublished 8 months ago Updated 8 months ago 1 min read
7
A Different Kind of Drunk
Photo by Isaac Burke on Unsplash

When I drink

The intruders they come out

For months and years they mount

Bubbling to the surface

Sometimes they make me think I’m great

Sometimes they make me feel worthless

But once I’ve had enough

They fly right off the cuff

I say too little too often

But once I’m there

It’s like I just can’t stop them

But no more

I have nothing left in store

Tired of just trying to push through

I’m through

Reached my breaking point when I lost her

I have nothing left to hold me down

Nothing left to offer but “this is me”

Accept it or leave it

I’m going to continue to be as free as I can be

Because now I’m drunk on being me

Thank you for reading my work. If you enjoyed this story, there’s more below. Please hit the like and subscribe button, you can follow me on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram @AtomicHistorian, and if you want to help me create more content, please consider leaving a tip or become a pledged subscriber.

More from this author:

vintagesurreal poetrysocial commentaryslam poetrysad poetryperformance poetrynature poetrylove poemslistinspirationalhumorhow toheartbreakfact or fictionexcerptschildrens poetrycelebritiesbuyers guidebook reviewsart
7

About the Creator

Atomic Historian

Heavily irradiated historian developing my writing career. You can follow me on Facebook, Twitter, & Instagram. To help me create more content, leave a tip or become a pledged subscriber. I also make stickers, t-shirts, etc here.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Test8 months ago

    The whole butld up is wonderful, poignant and beautifully done. But that last. Brilliant! 🤍

  • This was very liberating and poignant. I loved it!

  • Poppy 8 months ago

    This whole poem is great but the ending is superb

  • Evocative of so much. A not so simple declaration of doing what you can when it feels like you can do no more.

  • "Intruders bubbling to the surface." I can relate to that. Atomic Historian, good luck with your writing career! 😌

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.