Poets logo

A Diamond in the rough

Unique and one of a kind

By Novel AllenPublished about a year ago 1 min read
2
Bas Van Den on Unsplash

Maybe you don't see ME

Or you just choose to ignore ME

What is tantamount and important

IS THAT I SEE ME

I am RARE

UNIQUE

One of a kind

The only one

Perfected in the image of my maker

After I was molded

The typecast was reset

In splendor, I shine

Don't try to break me

Remake, ameliorate or reshape me

In futility you strive to redefine me

Make me who you think that I should be

In essence you demand of me to become you

Excuse me, but first pull the beam from your eye

Improve the YOU

I will improve the ME

But in my way, my time

I was born a diamond in the rough

Perfectly poised to become the GOD me

One with time and universe...BECOME...

Who do I think that I am you ask

"I am a child of the universe

No less than the trees and the stars

I have a right to be here

And whether or not it is clear to you"

My universe is what I demand it to be

What I will shape it to be

I do not need anyone's permission

I shall write my own story

Been writing it since I was conceived

And so I sing...cause I don't need you to...

"Set me free and let me fly

Like a bluebird flying high

Release the chains that bind

Come on and set me free"

And so I EXHALE

IN FREEDOM

[[[[[[[[[[[[[[[[[[[[[[[[

Quotations from Desiderata by Max Ehrmann, and song Set Me free by Joe Tex

performance poetryinspirational
2

About the Creator

Novel Allen

Every new day is a blank slate. Write something new.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Donna Fox (HKB)about a year ago

    I the rhythm and flow of your poem/ story!! It was intriguing how it felt very riddle- like in the beginning and then how you built off of it! Amazing!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.