Poets logo

A Dance Among the Lavender Fairies

A Dialogue Poem

By Amanda StarksPublished 10 days ago 1 min read
A Dance Among the Lavender Fairies
Photo by Daiga Ellaby on Unsplash

So that was you

dancing among the fairies?

__

Yes, indeed it was, my lord.

Did you enjoy my performance?

__

'Enjoy' would be a shallow term

to describe the feelings I had, your grace.

Your form was like a gentle light fluttering

among the lavender and pollen dust.

Pray tell, how did you learn to dance like them?

Photo by Anna Gru on Unsplash.

It took many centuries at first

just to get the fair folk's attention.

No fairy would teach their dance to just anyone,

not even to a fey with royal blood.

__

How did they accept you?

__

I exchanged one dance for another.

I flitted and swayed before their gardens,

offering my limbs and sweat

as payment for their secrets.

By photo nic on Unsplash

You danced for them over centuries?

Why?

__

Why not?

Our people have buried them, trampled on their lands,

erased their histories -

if I am to rule the fairies, I must show them

I am dedicated to learning their ways

while not imposing my own.

__

Aren't their better ways of communication

between our peoples?

__

Perhaps, but culture is the one defining trait of any thinking body.

To offer them gifts of gruel and gold

would only placate their wounds for a time.

To heal, we must offer respect.

By Diego PH on Unsplash

So you dance now to offer your respects?

Forgive me for my forward tongue, your grace,

but should a leader concern themselves

with such a tedious task?

__

Your tongue is only as forward

as your thinking, my lord.

Tell me, if not a leader,

then whom shall this task fall?

A change always starts

with one falling petal,

so why should I not

begin the fall?

__

If you liked what you read consider sharing with your family & friends! Don't forget to check out my author website at www.amandastarks.com and my other vocal stories below!

Prosenature poetryinspirationalFree Verse

About the Creator

Amanda Starks

Lover of the dark, fantastical, and heart-wrenching. Fantasy writer, poet, and hopefully soon-to-be novelist who wants to create safe spaces to talk about mental health. Subscribe to my free newsletter at www.amandastarks.com for updates!

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • Babs Iverson10 days ago

    Beautifully written and loved your inspirational poem!!!❤️❤️💕

Amanda StarksWritten by Amanda Starks

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.