Poets logo

A Dance

A short poem

By Dan StylesPublished 5 years ago 1 min read
Robert Mapplethorpe - "Flowers" (Copyright The Robert Mapplethorpe Foundation)

____________________________________________________

In these moments we build–

A shiver running steady to your head.

Could this be innocence's demise?

To discover this language left unsaid.

I sense your feeling of elation.

My mind shouts,

It knows it too.

Intertwined beyond resolve.

My heart whispers -

I give myself to you.

Nina Simone - "I Loves You Porgy"

____________________________________________________

An (after)thought

Some things come to mind.

Sitting here staring through your window. No longer in a state of wonder. My mind accepts this familiar feeling. But, where does this leave me? You are no longer within reach. A memory that flows so clearly through my head. I reflect upon what we have just witnessed together.

Until you appear in my arms once again.

heartbreak

About the Creator

Dan Styles

A busy mind trying to leave some of my thoughts on record

Instagram: @danrstyles

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Dan StylesWritten by Dan Styles

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.