Poets logo

A curse more so then a blessing.

A poem of an inheritance.

By Jordan ZunigaPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
Like

Fate had deemed it necessary, destiny had foretold,

Where once a man had gathered, now to yield his silver and his gold,

Death had come to reap his toll, the harvest ever ripe,

The mourning and the weeping of the richest mans toil and strife,

I gazed upon his body, the casket declared his estate,

Where once a man had worked rigorously now to see it all dissipate,

The whispers filled the synagogue, the conversations fluttered about in the air,

For in his will he left it all to me, I am his only remaining heir,

Where family had once come to greet me, to ask how my affairs progressed,

Now petty boasts and flattery hinted a darker intent, obsessed,

Where my friends would love to have me free, not only once, but more so then twice,

My solitude was cheaper then to visit and pay their price,

The calls came from every place, the country seemed to have its need,

I listen to the petty calls and can only hear their greed,

I wish it had never come to me, no matter how much I would reel,

For what good does gold and silver do if I can’t have others relate to how I feel?

Alas, such days are lonesome with bitter solitude and despair,

The shackles of an inheritance without remorse or care,

Such petty times of kin and friends with such a tone so bold,

Take what they believe is theirs to ask, and abandon me in the cold…

Hello! I hope you liked this piece! If you did, please be sure to leave me a tip to show your support, then read and leave an honest review of my work on Inkitt! If I receive enough positive views and feedback, I could receive a publishing contract and a $5,000 dollar advance! Thank you so much, and have a great day!

https://www.inkitt.com/stories/fantasy/610198

performance poetry
Like

About the Creator

Jordan Zuniga

Aspiring christian creative writer creating pieces to provoke thought and give God and Lord Jesus Christ the glory! God bless and I hope you’re doing well!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.