Poets logo

A Conversation I Had

Stream of Thoughts

By A’Moor_CreativePublished 3 years ago 1 min read
2
A Conversation I Had
Photo by Stephen Hocking on Unsplash

...and she said, “I think every one who smokes is running from something.” and I thought she was wrong and I simply believe that everyone is running from something...and we are all afraid of it, whatever it is and we all found ways to cope and we all can’t sleep at night with these fears behind our eye lids...we all know. But I know I can’t sleep and that’s why I smoke. And I smell my fear on my upper lip, and I know mosquitos taste it in my blood and now I know that my fear lives within me..

Sp where am I running to when the fear ripples and I can’t sleep at night?It’s myself that keeps me up and maybe it’s my own mind and maybe I smoke to cover myself in heavy clouds of earth and maybe I can sleep that night and maybe I’ll forget why it is I run because I don’t know where I’ll go after this next puff, maybe I’m not okay but I’ve been running since I was a little girl and she says,

“I think everyone who smokes is running from something and I just hope that you’re okay.”

social commentary
2

About the Creator

A’Moor_Creative

🔮Creatively Writing for the Unseen World📝

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.