Poets logo

A Time of Youth

When things were easy

By A’Moor_CreativePublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1
A Time of Youth
Photo by Jari Hytönen on Unsplash

My tears smelled just like the coming storms I feared as a little girl.

My sadness felt like when I put my hand to the windows as lightening cracked and waited for the thunder to slowly roll itself through the house shaking the rooms as it prowled.

My eyes opened as though the sky itself poured into my hands and dripped down my small legs.

My nightmares were that one heavy droplet that fell into the part of my plaits and ran its skinny fingers down my neck.

I’ve grown older and I no longer fear the coming storms.

I’ve grown older and learned to fear only

Myself.

sad poetry
1

About the Creator

A’Moor_Creative

🔮Creatively Writing for the Unseen World📝

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.