Poets logo

A Convergence

Of Memory and the Dead

By Hannah E. AaronPublished about a year ago 1 min read
4
A Convergence
Photo by Chris Greenhow on Unsplash

As a toddler, my fingers

were grazed by the lips and

teeth of a treat-searching deer

separated from me by the zoo

enclosure’s chain-link.

But now, standing in wide pasture

and intermittent fencing,

a deer far removed from

my childhood remains

evident in skull only.

It rests teeth-up,

the molars pointed sharply

toward the sun like the antlers

to the ground as they curve around

the old corral’s wooden beam.

I look into the dark

of the upside-down eye socket,

the bone thin as it bulges

to accommodate a forgotten

eye, missing like the mandible.

I didn’t have to feed

the zoo-deer long ago

just as sustenance would be

lost on this buck,

bodiless.

nature poetry
4

About the Creator

Hannah E. Aaron

Hello! I'm mostly a writer of fiction and poetry that tend to involve nature, family, and the idea of growth at the moment. Otherwise, I'm a reader, crafter, and full-time procrastinator!

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Jay Kantor11 months ago

    Dear Hannah ~ Such a coincidence: Just the other day I snapped a pic of a huge antlered Deer licking at our backyard sprinklers; it's been very dry here - but I've never seen a Deer-here in our very 'suburban' neighborhood. We weren't the least bit fearful of one-another - so I fed him some Cheerios right out of my hand - fer-real! After commiserating with Prof Doc (I am a legal professional) - with you in mind - I've written about job choice of late - very different from ours and even your 'Dads-Days.' We dealt with blatant 'affirmative' action - which is so prevalent of late. - Best to you - Jay Jay Kantor, Chatsworth, California 'Senior' Vocal Author - Vocal Author Community -

  • Amanda Starks12 months ago

    The description of the deer skull is so good!! This is an awesome poem.

  • Allie Bickertonabout a year ago

    Wow, well done! :)

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.