Poets logo

A Cold Day In Hell

a poem

By Danielle KelleyPublished about a year ago 1 min read
1
A Cold Day In Hell
Photo by erin mckenna on Unsplash

I never thought I'd say this, but bring back the flames

Let me have scalding and roasting and pain

Wind whipping my flesh far worse than the lash

I long for the days where my limbs would be smashed

Give me torture from the claws of the Devil himself

It beats the numb sting of a winter ice shelf

Things were bleak here before, but now the light's dimmer

All from the eyes of this snow buried sinner

To those who transgress, take this wisdom you're told:

Nothing is worse than Hell in the cold

art
1

About the Creator

Danielle Kelley

I'm making this all up as I go. I appreciate any feedback you lovely people can give me, and if you'd like to drop a few coins in my hat it would honestly mean the world to me.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Dylan about a year ago

    This is really deep. Fantastic writing!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.