Poets logo

A Cat of Coincidence

The best things in life often arrive unexpected.

By Jessica DowdingPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
1
Kit at 4ish weeks old.

you tried to run away, you know.

-

when i heard your heart-splitting call of, “help me,”

and came to the edge

of the weed-filled ditch —

you tried to hide.

-

when i picked you up you weighed

no more than the box of butter

i’d taken out of the fridge that morning

and your fingertip-sized paws trembled in the cold.

-

you fit beneath my chin in those days,

and i tucked you into my shirt for the frost-breath walk home

feeling your fur press

impossibly soft against my tired skin.

-

you started to purr right away —

do you remember?

the soft, low rumble humming deep

into my bones.

-

i knew it before we even reached the street sign

that we were meant to be,

as fast and fervent as i’d ever known anything

and i knew you knew it, too.

-

you’d sleep anywhere on me, at first,

on my shoulder, my lap, my chest, my head,

the open circle of my palm as it rested on the desk

and you seemed to smile as you slept.

-

it was the happiest i’d been in a long time.

have i told you that?

watching you play and grow and yes,

even destroy my favorite bamboo.

-

and when i felt sad, you always knew,

curling like a puddle of gentle ash

in the hollow of my stomach, and you filled

a place in my heart i didn’t know was empty.

-

so in case you need reminding, Kit,

i love you,

i love you,

i love you.

-

and thank you for reminding me how important it is to stay.

Kit & his adopted brother Newt at 1 year old.

love poems
1

About the Creator

Jessica Dowding

I have an overactive imagination and I really like petting dogs. I love using creative writing to dig into the small moments that make up humanity.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Jay Kantorabout a year ago

    Hi Ms. Jessica - I can so relate to your stories; one by one! And, although I'm not a Poet and I know it.*I've subscribed to you in anticipation of your next offering. This story has so much heart woven into it; lovely how you just speak to your readers. I'm just an old story teller; nothing more: I've written a similar piece on behalf of - Pet Haven Minnesota - they name all of their 'Foster' Cats & Dogs. It's Titled: 'Rescue' that has brought so much attention to their dedicated cause; that is a nice feeling. Jay Kantor, Chatsworth, Cal 'Senior' Vocal Author

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.