Poets logo

A Cage in my Mind

By: Nazarie Manning

By NazthekidPublished about a year ago 2 min read
Like
A Cage in my Mind
Photo by Nsey Benajah on Unsplash

My brain has been split into 5 different places is the only way I can describe a migraine...

You have always been my greatest fear but now I could see that you were just a tumor

Infecting with all the bad that I never focused on the healthy parts and let them deteriorate

I've nursed myself back to health although not perfect because I still have scars...but a battle is not a battle without scars

I crave freedom, peace, and space still I manage to almost always never achieve those rewards.

You know how to ruin a moment even if it is a good one, you know how to dig your claws so deep that I can't pry away

You love the power and control you can get away with like a never-ending virus...

I guess you could say me and Rapunzel are one and the same locked away inside my own mind

This rage that harbors beneath the surface preparing itself to come to the forefront but yet and still I am swallowing it down for I am afraid of what I am capable of

"I see you," will forever hold reign over I love you

Do you see what I see or do you see what I have yet to uncover

My name holds weight that I will never understand, my talents go far beyond just the pages of my little black book and my mind even now is my own

Why would I sacrifice any of that for your happiness?

This power is mine, this pen only knows of one wielder and that is me

You were my biggest critic when I didn't need one, my first wake-up call when I was never asleep, and my worst fear when you were the last person I was supposed to be afraid of

I wonder how you look at me now knowing that you do not frighten nor hinder me

You have driven me to the point of insanity and now I have to find sense and security and who better than myself

No one has my back as she does, my safety net, my fire when I am cold, my alter ego when I have no one to turn towards like a switch that has been flipped

You can turn my volume down but I will still be in your mind like a tumor

You can dim my light but you won't ever see me coming

You can smash and destroy my dreams but I can merely create new ones

But most of all I am at the forefront of your mind, I am in your dreams but I am existing in your universe

It is time for me to be something you could never imagine a cleanse for the soul

I bring comfort, true power, love, and loyalty

Hammering into your brain like my migraines

You drive me to the brink of madness

Your face is engrained into my mind and it plays like a broken record

You are the joker to my deck of cards a nuisance and a nagging pain

You cloud my space like smoke, suffocating, aggravating and impossible

The smoke never clears...not completely

It just turns into a fog lurking but still there.

performance poetrysad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Nazthekid

I’m just here expressing my thoughts and writing some dope ass poems!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.