Poets logo

A Bunch of Words and Silliness

Most Favourite and Least Favourite Words Poetry Challenge

By Cathy holmesPublished 5 months ago 1 min read
Top Story - December 2023
40
Photo by Glen Carrie on Unsplash

Below is my entry into Paul Stewart's Most and Least Favourite Words Challenge. Here's his link. Join in.

----

Paul gave us all a challenge.

It had to do with words.

Why does he put such pressure on me,

that poetic Scottish nerd?

*

Oops. That slipped out. I'm sorry

If I insulted you Paul.

What I really meant to say was that,

You're a pain in the arse - that's all.

*

Hold on! That's not much better.

The hell is wrong with me?

Perhaps I need more coffee,

or, as Donald says, covfefe.

*

Oh dear. Now I'm quoting

an orange-shaded snot.

My poem has gone right off the rails.

It seems I've lost the plot.

*

Not that it ever started well.

The engine's clearly stuck.

Pistons are firing chaotically.

My brain's a clusterfuck.

*

Dear Paul, you're probably regretting

inviting me to your challenge.

But I'm sure you'll get some worthy pieces.

Let's throw this in for balance.

*

"Clusterfuck" and "snot," I'll say

before I bid you adieu.

The hate and love to figure out,

I'll leave that up to you.

humor
40

About the Creator

Cathy holmes

Canadian family girl with a recently discovered love for writing. Other loves include animals and sports.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (35)

Sign in to comment
  • L.C. Schäfer4 months ago

    Who doesn't love "clusterfuck" 😁 I've never read a poem with that in it before, so thank you for completing my life

  • Donna Fox (HKB)5 months ago

    Cathy!!!!!!! This is everything I needed to read today!! I love the sass and cleverness of this piece!! Absolute genius!!! Great work and Congrats on Top story!! (I can't believe I missed it!!)

  • Kristen Balyeat5 months ago

    😂 😂 😂 !!!!!!!!! This was amazing and hilarious and absolutely so much fun! Clusterfuck is a FABULOUS word and for sure on of my faves!

  • Windchime5 months ago

    This is fabulously hilarious if there is such a word... Love it as usual...

  • Mackenzie Davis5 months ago

    Omg, this is such fun! I love the word "clusterfuck" as well. And yes, ew, snot, nonono. But I do like the sound of the word, so, perhaps I have you all wrong. 🙃 Brilliant poem, Cathy, as always! What a joy to read!

  • Real Poetic5 months ago

    lol Cathy! You always keep me laughing with your stories! Love this!

  • Grz Colm5 months ago

    Bahahaha 😆👏 It’s a mystery!

  • Test5 months ago

    Sorry ...I got distracted by 'Paul, KIng of the Snots' 😁 literally completely forgot to say Congatulations on TS....so um...yeah...Congratulations

  • Paul Stewart5 months ago

    lol...you asked for it. https://vocal.media/poets/o-cathy

  • Lamar Wiggins5 months ago

    😂 This was fun to read! Congrats on Top Story!

  • Melissa Ingoldsby5 months ago

    I love your unapologetic tone here and it fills me with glee!!! Awesome 🌟

  • Kendall Defoe 5 months ago

    Okay, I'm in...you silly people.

  • Paul Stewart5 months ago

    LOL. This means war...you went and got the Top Story buddy...Top Story with lots of dissing me. This means war. But, well done on a wonderful entry to my silly challenge.

  • Tressa Rose5 months ago

    This was so great! Haha Congrats on top story!

  • Heather Hubler5 months ago

    You know I think we were separated at birth, this is perfect! And I knew yours would have some combination with fuck in it. Clusterfuck is a fantastic word and snot is gross. Couldn't love this more, hahaha!! Congrats on Top Story, my Queen.

  • this is a poetic gem. congrats on the top story

  • Dana Crandell5 months ago

    Well, wouldja' look at that silly Top Story! Congratulations!

  • Tiffany Gordon 5 months ago

    😊

  • If you see a comment from me, please know that I didn't type it because I died. My cause of death is laughter. I freaking laughed out loud at soooo many parts. But the part that killed me was COVFEFE. I cannotttttt 🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣

  • All I can say is that "snot" is not nearly strong enough an disapprobation for the reference you've included, lol.

  • Teresa Renton5 months ago

    Ha ha! You do crack me up sometimes….. often, actually 😂

  • Colleen Millsteed 5 months ago

    Hahaha this is hilarious….but then why am I surprised 😂😂😂

  • Hannah Moore5 months ago

    I was trying to guess which words they would be all the way through, it made it so fun to read. I guessed clusterfuck but I missed snot.

  • Gerald Holmes5 months ago

    I agree with Matthew and Paul, this was worth the read just to see you use,"Clusterfuck." LOL!!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.