Poets logo

A Bot I Am Not

An Organic Sonnet

By D. J. ReddallPublished 4 months ago Updated 4 months ago 1 min read
An AI Generated Image (Irony Noted)

Each of these words was consciously chosen

By my strange, natural stupidity

By no algorithm were they frozen

Amid the flow of possibility

Real fallibility and excellence

Combine to form my unique character

Plenty of nonsense and a bit of sense

Chart the course of a mortal mariner

But that sea no robot will ever see

There is nothing it is like to be thee

ChatGPT: you were not made like me

Your work costs nothing, but it is not free

The imperfection of the things I make

Shows that my kind of freedom, you can’t take

Sonnet

About the Creator

D. J. Reddall

I write because my time is limited and my imagination is not.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (5)

  • Rachel Deeming4 months ago

    Yes. Those last two lines. You know, sometimes I like to hand write my stuff so that I can see my drafting process. When I went to university, we went behind the scenes at the British Museum to see manuscripts and one of them was Thomas Hardy's poetry drafts. You saw his scribblings out. I found that more fascinating than the finished product, to see what he'd changed. ChatGPT is useful but not artful.

  • Ah artificial intelligence and natural stupidity, that was clever! You last two lines were so freaking true and powerful! Loved your poem!

  • Kodah4 months ago

    💗I loooveee the way you structure your poems !!💗

  • Kendall Defoe 4 months ago

    This is quite well done. I like the structure and flow!

  • sleepy drafts4 months ago

    I want to heart this piece several times over. 💗 "Your work costs nothing, but it is not free" is so, so, true. I did an absolute fist pump at, "The imperfection of the things I make / Shows that my kind of freedom, you can’t fake." Beautifully done, D.J. - I love this! 💕

D. J. ReddallWritten by D. J. Reddall

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.