Poets logo

A better stranger

//I’d be a thousand miles from danger if I made a better stranger of you.

By W. J. Bradford IIIPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Ig: thesadder_chapter

Residual fragments,

millions of them,

scattered about and left to the birds.

How do you take back the years?

How do we become what we resist

and forget everything we crave?

How can I make a better stranger of you?

Let the Polaroids shake clear my head

like an old etch-a-sketch and fade sweet moments into foggy recollections.

As the little nostalgias of our personal heaven slowly fall to the trenches of my absent memory, I don’t want to forget.

I reach out, still holding onto whatever part of you that I can because your memories reside in my heart.

So In the night when my head is cloudy

and the northern lights can’t guide me

to cloud 9, I’ll close my eyes and listen to the rhythm of my heart beat.

Like footsteps on a wood floor, walking closer and closer until you’re standing

in front of me;

until I can’t separate reality and fantasy,

or maybe I don’t want to.

Dizzy spells from spinning around your finger and dancing in your hair,

purposely Forgetting to forget you

while toiling in nostalgia’s mysterious attractions. How they seem to conjure up a familiar pain. A hurt that feels like home.

A tough love that makes you love harder.

So whether or not I need to forget,

I’ll always carry a piece of you in my love,

because the way you defined the word still resonates with my inner

hopeless romantic.

social commentary
Like

About the Creator

W. J. Bradford III

my name is William Bradford III

I write poetry and create content surround each subject.

Ig:thesadder_chapter

Fb:thesadderchapter

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.