Poets logo

The Scourge of God

It's your turn now

By Anna TorresPublished 14 days ago Updated 6 days ago 1 min read
Like
The Scourge of God
Photo by Gioele Fazzeri on Unsplash

You punctured too many holes into my heart. I had to carry it in my arms like a sieve. I had to go numb worse than novocaine to preserve myself. I was forced to realize that we had simply run out of time. A prison made to keep us together out of nostalgia. I had my illusions but you completely shattered them. You had to prove you could do better than me. But loyalty cannot be bought, it can only be given. What drove us together was a spark that quickly dwindled. We called it love but settling resembles hope too much. You were too far away even when you were right beside me. I didn't want you closer, I wanted you to be something you could never be. You weren't searching for the truth like I was, you just wanted to cover up your mishaps. You couldn't fill the holes you created so you found a clean slate instead. The chasm in between just caused more space to ignore. You're no longer any of my concern. You told your lies in order to survive. I had to levitate myself in order to burn. Two worlds divided in order for us to finally die. I don't know when but this lesson has got to be learned. You were the salt in the wound I didn't think I deserved. You tried to take credit for all the accomplishments I knew I would earn. This pain isn't mine anymore, now it's your turn

inspirationalsurreal poetrysad poetryMental Healthheartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Anna Torres

I’m a 37-year old mother. I love reading, metal music, and writing. I have begun writing again since 2021

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.