Poets logo

A Beautiful Mahogany-Brown Rose...

~Comfort Challenge Poem~

By Tiffany Gordon Published 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read

I

was

brought

up

by

A

Beautiful

Mahogany-Brown

Rose

that

was

blessed

with

wisdom

to

spare…

Plus+

A

giving

heart

that

never

stalled…

&

A

Mother Teresa-esque

selfless

nature

that

ALWAYS

left

a

positive

impact

on

the

souls

of

others

***

Incredibly,

Once my mother became ill, my grandmother sacrificed so much to raise me up…

At 64 years young, she had the option to embrace retirement and run and tuck…

Instead, she stepped on the field, fearlessly, like the fierce, spiritually-strong mare that she was…

And ran with grace, the new race set before her until her very last say…

A monumental task that I have no doubt earned her a: "Well done thou good and faithful servant" on her sunset day…

**Asking was my homework done

**Making me a meal

**Tucking me in at night

**Tending to my hair

**Telling me stories from her youth

**Giving me advice

were just some of the comforts that my grandmother provided me in my youth…

But, as I look back on my entire life, I now realize that her love/protection were key to my survival & the miraculous blessing of comfort from above that I needed to bloom within the garden of life, properly…

Thank

you

so

very

much

Florida

Mae

Gordon

for

being

My

Guardian

Angel

when

I

so

desperately

needed

one!

Love

You

Always

Regal

Matriarch

Queen...

Rest

Well

My

Sweet

Big

Momma!!!! 😘

inspirational

About the Creator

Tiffany Gordon

I am a super-spiritual, fun-loving artist, writer, & peer-counselor residing in the Pacific Northwest. I am also an Institute of Children's Literature alumna who enjoys writing about the triumph of the human spirit.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  4. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  5. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (19)

  • Novel Allen12 months ago

    This is so beautiful. To my Grandma as well, To my Mother as well. For all our moms and grandmas everywhere, Angel wings are theirs forever. Very lovely tribute.

  • A Beautiful and Inspiring Story ❤️👑‼️🫶🏾I miss my Grandma also😇🕊️

  • This comment has been deleted

  • KJ Aartila2 years ago

    A beautiful tribute filled with gratitude. 🌺

  • A tear welled in my eye, and I smiled at the same time. Beautiful sentiments written in an enchanting cadence, Tiffany. I'm glad I had a brief moment this morning to visit your world here and learn about your grandmother.

  • J. Delaney-Howe2 years ago

    So sweet! Great tribute.

  • C. H. Richard2 years ago

    Oh this poem is absolutely lovely. Made my heart sing. Your grandma sounds like the best of the best.❤️ ❤️❤️Beautifully written

  • Caroline Jane2 years ago

    Your Grandma sounds incredible. It clearly runs in the family! ❤

  • Such love in your words Tiffany. Love this.

  • Heather Hubler2 years ago

    So glad you had this beautiful, strong woman in your life! What a beautiful tribute to her legacy :) I loved the form you choose and loved the phrase 'sunset day.' Great poetry!

  • Dawn Salois2 years ago

    Your grandmother is such a strong, inspiring woman. It’s wonderful that you have the talent to write such a beautiful, loving tribute to her.

  • Harvey Elwood2 years ago

    Such a lovely tribute to your grandmother! I like the interesting structure as well!

  • Wonderful contribution! I really love this poem.

  • Mariann Carroll2 years ago

    That’s is so beautiful. A Grandmother ‘s love truly very comforting. I can see where your great personality from 🥰

  • A wonderful tribute

  • Lena Folkert2 years ago

    Such a beautiful tribute and so lovingly written! <3 LOVELY!

  • Cathy holmes2 years ago

    Aww Tiff, what a beautiful tribute to your grandmother. Well done, indeed.

  • That was beautiful Tiffany. I love this.

  • This was a very touching and beautiful tribute! Fantastic ise of imageries. Loved this poem!

  • Babs Iverson2 years ago

    Tiffany, your poem is awesome and comforting. Smooth, loving, inspirational and more! Bravo!!!👏❤💕

Tiffany Gordon Written by Tiffany Gordon

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.