Poets logo

A Beat

Love Poem

By Skylar RellaPublished 6 years ago 1 min read
1

My words are caught in my throat,

My breaths are short and quick,

I can’t help but think of all the terrible ways this could end...

The conversation comes to a gradual close as we approach the building.

I know this is my last chance.

If I don’t do this now,

I’ll never forgive myself.

My steps slow,

My mouth opens.

I can’t help but think that getting rejected would be the only way to get over her...

The words spill out of my mouth,

The elegant awkwardness of my voice filling the empty air.

My sentences speed by,

Choppy and rushed,

As if by talking fast enough,

I wouldn’t have to hear myself speak;

I wouldn’t have to suffer my own embarrassment

From such an out-of-place question in our normal conversation.

I wait.

I wait for what seems like hours

For one short beat--

We both take a breath.

She is surprised by the shift in conversation,

And I am terrified of what response I will get,

Worried that this simple question could change everything between us.

And I wait for that one long beat,

The weight of the question now off my shoulders,

But the weight of the answer now thrown onto me,

My nervous knees buckling weakly,

Bumping into each other clumsily and threatening to collapse

With the heavy unspoken answer which I feared to hear

And no longer felt able to hold on my shoulders.

And in that brief silence that lasted forever,

With my thoughts racing and my heart pounding,

Her feet stop,

Her mouth opens,

And she says yes.

love poems
1

About the Creator

Skylar Rella

visual & performing artist.

original art attached to written pieces.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.