Poets logo

9 to 5

By Bria Fairchild

By Bria FairchildPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
9 to 5
Photo by Joshua Hoehne on Unsplash

Do you know what it's like to have to smile at their slights?

To ignore their jabs and demeaning glares

Knowing that if I speak

that I will have no backup

See my reaction is seen as

aggression

One that they all love to question

Playing the victim, they do oh so well

Let me be careful before they ring the alarm bell

So I smile and take it all

Whilst my self-esteem cannonball

They love to compliment my style

Planning to steal it all the while

Take a walk in my shoes

as we walk to the rhythm of my blues

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Bria Fairchild

Hi! I hope you enjoy my short stories, bad poetry and the advice tidbits that I give out every Wednesday. Come and scream at the stars with me.

Whenever, Wherever,Whomever

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.