Poets logo

50 Years

50 years go by

By Octovo Libra Published 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
50 Years
Photo by John Fowler on Unsplash

I had hopes then, when I was no older than ten,

I thought wings would sprout my back,

And up high I would part the whishing rack,

And live in a storm among the smouldering black,

Those were my hopes then, when I was no older than ten;

I still had hopes a-plenty, when I was no older than twenty,

I thought many years I had with dreams I could try,

I could try them all, for youth, had time to spry,

All the inventions and dreams of mention that might fly,

Those were my hopes, my hopes plenty, when I was no older than twenty;

That time I lived murky, when I was no older than thirty,

So many dreams I had—had since aged,

And dry the wellspring where my dreams had played,

And a war with my youth and the times had I waged,

When my life had gone murky, when I was no older than thirty;

My longing dreams lived shortly, when I turned the age of forty

That age the dreams went adrift,

From my bed asleep my bones could hardly lift,

This heavy abode that is reluctant of the past and perpetually rift,

Those longing dreams now living shortly, when I reached the age of forty;

Now I live mournfully, at the wise lock of fifty,

My dreams had left in hiding since my youth,

And I look back at the desperate truth,

That my dreams aged into nothingness, when old are lost the hopeful roots,

And since then a trampling reality, as I age mournfully as the years go by;

And since then I had passed the age of fifty;

And since then all my dreams passed me by

performance poetry

About the Creator

Octovo Libra

Instagram: @libracymbaspoems

Twitter : @libracymbalspoems

And my poetry Hell Is Like A Dog Kennel and other poems

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Octovo Libra Written by Octovo Libra

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.