Poets logo

5 years of reading superlatives

The best and worst of 250 books

By Maureen Y. PalmerPublished 3 months ago Updated 3 months ago 1 min read
5
5 years of reading superlatives
Photo by Kimberly Farmer on Unsplash

And Then There Were None: My all-time favorite mystery. //

Beyond Possible, memoir of a Nepali mountaineer: Most life-changing. //

Celia’s Song: Best literary (pure perfection!). // The

Decagon House Murders: Most shocking reveal I have

EVER seen in a mystery. // The

Frangipani Tree Mystery: Best Singaporean murder. //

Greatest medical books: The Upward Spiral,

How Not to Die. // Weirdest book I've ever read:

I Crawl Through It (I did not enjoy this). // Narwhalicorn and

Jelly: Most excessively shrill energy. // Favorite living author: Dawn

Kurtagich. (My other fav is Agatha Christie.) // Most thrilling

locked-room mystery: The Honjin Murders. // Severely depressing book I

most hated by far: The Gifts of Imperfection. // My favorite

Nancy Drew (I've read 24): The Secret of the Golden Pavilion. // The

only audiobooks I've really enjoyed: the Nancy Drew Diaries series.

(Physical reading just can't be beat!) //

Quokka is about my favorite animal. // Uzumaki deserves horror

recognition for giving me a phobia of

shiitake mushrooms. // And the

Trees Crept In is my actual favorite horror:

utterly atmospheric, deeply touching. // Fav spooky middle grade: Dead

Voices. // Best manga series (It's unbelievably cute!):

Wonder Cat Kyuu-chan. // My favorite romance: The Dragon's Bride

(XXX with a humanoid dragon man, and

yes, I have terrible taste. This is a judgment-free

zone!)

listFree Verse
5

About the Creator

Maureen Y. Palmer

Reading • Writing • Murder!

I'm an avid reader and aspiring author, currently working on my first mystery novel. Here, I write essays about reading and writing, as well as short mystery/thriller/horror fiction.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Test3 months ago

    Keep up the great work!"

  • Kendall Defoe 3 months ago

    This is fantastic, and I am a bigger reader who does not recognize a single title on the list! ;)

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.